how to delete the Spotify account? Spotify is a popular digital music, video, and podcast streaming service. It gives you access to millions of music, video, and other content from all over the world. However, in the music streaming industry, Spotify has a major market with 159 million free users, 71 million paying subscribers, an ad-supported service. You can enjoy listening to music in the Spotify app or its web player. In addition to this context, the Spotify app loads music faster than it’s web player version. You can also download Spotify in your smartwatch and can stream various contents in it.
Types of Spotify Accounts
Spotify has two types of user – free and paid. Listening to music is completely free, but in the free account, you will see the banner ads and audio ads interrupted between the songs. However, if you want to remove those ads, you may upgrade your account to a premium one. Spotify premium or paid account removes the advertisement, enables downloading offline songs, and many more. The premium Spotify account costs $9.99 per month.
Spotify premium account has below-written facilities:
- Improved the audio quality: Free account users play songs at 160kbit/s, but the premium account offers quality music at 320lbit/s.
- Offline music download: Premium users can download offline songs,
- No advertisement: In the Spotify premium account, no audio or banner ads will come.
- Showtime Subscription: If anyone signs up for Spotify Premium for Student’s plan, then that user will get access to the streaming apps and Showtime cable channel with all the previous facilities.
If you are new in Spotify, then you need to create an account by tapping ‘Sign Up Free’ in the Spotify App. However, if you use the Spotify website, they create an account from the account creation page. For creating a Spotify account, you need to give your valid email-id, password, gender, and username. You can anytime upgrade your free Spotify account to a premium account.
However, you may want to delete your Spotify account. If you are using Spotify premium account, you need to cancel your premium subscription then you can delete your account.
How to delete the Spotify account?
If you are Spotify premium user, then follow this step.
- Cancel your premium subscription
You may have completed the free trial and don’t want to continue your paid membership. Besides, for some reason, you want to cancel the Spotify premium subscription and become a free user. Premium Subscription cancellation can only be made from the official Spotify website.
Follow the steps to cancel premium subscription:
- At first, go to Spotify.com as you can do it from the App.
- Then log in to your Spotify account.
- Tap your username at the upper-right corner.
- Open the “Account” section from the dropdown.
- On the left menu panel, follow the “Membership” option.
- Then click the “Change or cancel.”
- After that, click the “Cancel Premium” option on the newly opened page.
- Click “Yes” if you want to cancel the subscription.
If you unsubscribe to Spotify premium membership, you will still be able to stream those playlists. Now you are a free Spotify user. However, if you want to delete the Spotify account permanently, then you will lose those playlists both online or offline.
What to keep in mind when deleting the Spotify account permanently?
- You will lose your Spotify username that you can’t be able to re-create in the future.
- You will lose the playlist and the saved music.
- Deleted music and the playlist can never be imported.
- You’ll lose the followers.
- Rather than closing your account, you can keep the free membership plan.
Methods of Permanently deleting Spotify account
- On the web browser, go to the homepage of the Spotify website and sign-in if necessary.
- From the menu tab, click ‘Help.’
- In the search bar, type ‘Delete Spotify Account’ or ‘Close account.’
- From the dropdown menu, select “Close Account.”
- On that page, you will see, “If you’d still like to go ahead, you can close your account here.” Click on that link.
- After that, a contact page will open.
- On that page, go to the account menu and click ‘I want to close my Spotify account permanently.’
- Then select “Close Account.”
Moreover, you can skip all these steps and just go straight to delete the Spotify account.
How to Know Your Spotify Account is Permanently Deleted or Not?
As soon as you delete your Spotify account, you may not receive any confirmation mail immediately. So, for that, contact them by sending an email in the first phase. The response from the Spotify team may come within 24-48 hours. For that, check your spam box too. Sometimes, the response may come late.
If they replay and your account is still not closed, then put the account closure request via the same email. However, you can also contact them on Facebook or Twitter.